Established in 1913, Toltec School District No. 22 was comprised solely of rural farms located south and west of Eloy until the 1960s. Frank Shedd Sr. donated a 1.7-acre site to the Toltec School District on May 26, 1926. Several wooden schoolrooms were added as needed. Besides serving as an elementary school, the unique 1930s Mission-style building was a central gathering place for area residents from 1930 until it closed in 1978. Today, the school is being refurbished and prepared as a future museum site.
The grounds are shared with the Sunland Visitor Center where travelers from around the world gather information about Arizona tourism areas and outdoor adventures. Visitors can also register for local tours at the visitor center. Click on the image above to learn more about this location.